Mt Dale VK6/SW-036

The VK6 SoTA programme has started and thanks goes out to everyone who made it possible.

Anxious to get started, I thought a trip up to Mt Dale on my day off would be a great beginning. I have been here a few times before, once camping and a few other times chasing thunderstorms. At one time I would have said that I knew the way through the hills like the back of my hand … but it’s been a while.

A FT-817 was lent to me again by on old friend, until I can get my hands on a X1M, and headed up the hill same way I always remembered. The only real problem, apart from HF conditions, was the road I had always used had been blocked by Water Corporation. For future reference, this is Pickering Brook Road out towards the old Barton’s Mill prison farm.

The best access from the north is on Ashendon Road that runs off Mundaring Weir Road. It is all-weather dirt and is quite well used and subject to quite large potholes that can catch out the unwary. There were a few nasty washaways, narrow but deep, just remember not to be still braking hard when the front wheels go in. A section of Dale Road was also inundated and had water still flowing over it. This bit was quite slippery but the Prado ambled through it happily. I have done the same section many times in a Holden Barina, so don’t be fazed.

Southern access onto Ashendon Road from Brookton Highway is also available. This means less time on dirt roads but greater travelling time from the bulk of the metro area.

IMG_0546.PNG
There is a small picnic/camping area on the right hand side just before the the final ascent. I assume this is where campers and walkers stay on this leg of the Bibbulmun Track. I’ve never really had a look around there apart from noticing some picnic tables in the scrub.

IMG_0553.PNG
Once at the summit I opted for a ‘walk out/walk in’ approach. I could park quite close to the summit but to comply with activation rules I walked outside the activation zone (quite a lot, as it turned out, due to a laggy GPS) and walked back in, carrying all my gear for the activation. I tethered the squid pole to a handy post, placed all the other gear on a small retaining wall, did a Goat spot and started calling. One thing I did notice was the occasional data burst of some kind from the repeater tower on the summit. It only lasted about a second at a time but was quite intermittent and more noticeable on higher frequencies.

IMG_0552.PNG

IMG_0011.JPG

IMG_0556-1.PNG
After an initial flurry of contacts on 40m I tried 15m. Sadly conditions were not conducive to interstellar QRP contacts apart from VK3OHM, who was 5/8 with QSB to me but I was unable to complete the contact. I guess I’ll need to upgrade & join the 20m brigade.

Thanks to all who answered the call on SOTAWatch and the various forums. Looking forward to the next one. Apologies to those on 15m but I had to head back to Perth to pick up the kids from school.

IMG_0012.JPG

IMG_0008.JPG

IMG_0010.JPG

This entry was posted in Amateur Radio Stuff, SoTA - Summits On The Air. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Mt Dale VK6/SW-036

  1. Hi Merton
    Congratulations on your first SOTA activation, good to read you were well prepared for the event. The pictures compliment the write up. I’m looking forward to a S2S contact with you on a VK6 summit. Great to see SOTA is alive and well in VK6.
    73
    Andrew, VK1NAM

    • Merton says:

      Thanks Andrew. Looking forward to my first S2S too. Quite surprised at the number of local chasers for the second ever VK6 activation.

  2. vk3yy says:

    Hi Merton,
    Great stuff on your first activation! I could hear you on 15m at one stage R4 on peaks only. I drove to a quiet spot but the signals dropped. Catch you on the next one!
    Glenn, VK3YY.

    • Merton says:

      Thanks for trying Glenn. Heard your first call and tried calling back but conditions just went downhill from there. Sadly I was only able to be up there for 90 minutes or so due to kids school drop-off & pick-up times.

  3. vk5pas says:

    Hi Merton,
    Congratulations on your first SOTA activation. Unfortunately I was away overseas at the time and couldn’t work you. I have placed a link to your wordpress site on my site also.
    Have also received your log for WWFF and I will upload it.
    Good luck with future activations.
    Best 73,
    Paul,
    VK5PAS.

Comments are closed.